The Temptation of Gracie by Santa Montefiore

Kate's Book Spot

Genre: Romance

Publisher: Simon & Schuster

Publication Date: 12 July 2018

“When Gracie Burton stumbles upon an advertisement for a week-long cookery course in the heart of the Tuscan countryside,she cannot resist, and ploughs her life savings into the trip.

Her only family – daughter Carina and granddaughter Anastasia – are hesitant about what has prompted this seemingly random venture. But they have no sense of Gracie’s past; of what could possibly be calling her to Italy. They have no idea that Gracie is harbouring the secret of an extraordinary life that preceded them . . .”

MY REVIEW

This was my first Santa Montefiore book so I wasn’t sure what to expect.

The first thing that jumped out at me were the warm characters, they were relatable and so easy to visualise. I couldn’t help but giggle at the group of ladies from Badley Compton as they attempted to stage an intervention.

Then there was the emotional side of the story which broke my heart and made it leap in equal measures. As a Mum, I felt so sad for Gracie and her quiet longing for the family she missed so much. As a woman, I applauded her defiant courage in doing something that would bring her happiness and not concerning herself with other people’s opinions on the matter. It soon became clear that Gracie had a secret and I must admit that I did have a vague idea what it could be.

It turned out I was partially correct with my prediction!

Carina wasn’t my favourite character to begin with, I really felt like she needed to reevaluate her life, particularly where her daughter Anastasia was concerned.

Would the beautiful Tuscan sunshine change her?

Unusually for me I found myself enjoying the present day scenes and the 1960s scenes equally. The tantalising romances that flitted through both time periods were wonderfully exciting to read.

The Temptation of Gracie was a warm and meaningful read that pulled at my heart in so many ways. It may have been my first book from this author but it certainly won’t be my last!

kate1

CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR

Website | Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

Thank you to the publisher for sending me this ARC in exchange for my honest opinion.

3 thoughts on “The Temptation of Gracie by Santa Montefiore

Please Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.